Integrating Plaid in a React Native Expo app

Integrating Plaid in a React Native Expo app

ยท

2 min read

As some of you probably know, at the moment I am working on my own startup trustio.io. ๐Ÿ”จ

We need to collect bank information from our users, so we decided to use Plaid.

Turns out Plaid has a React Native library which is great, but unfortunately it doesn't work with Expo Managed Apps. ๐Ÿ˜”

First, I thought that WebView could be a solution to our problem and it actually is. ๐Ÿ™€

What's even better, there is a library github.com/burstware/expo-plaid-link that does just that, so you don't have to worry about the WebView implementation!

After playing for a while and testing it out, it works fine. However, there is an issue at the moment when you import the library, the app freezes... To fix that, I just copied the component code and added it into my project. After importing it locally, everything works like a charm! ๐ŸŒˆ

I hope you found this article useful in case you are looking to integrate Plaid into your Expo app.

Until then, see you next Monday, take care! ๐Ÿ˜Š


p.s ๐Ÿคซ I recently started a podcast called The Anxious Developer where I share my knowledge on how to reduce your stress, become more present and productive as a Developer. I would love to hear your thoughts on it! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Remember, you are worthy, you are loved and you matter! Have a great day! โค๏ธ

ย