4-year startup failed, going freelance... ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

ยท

2 min read

For the last couple of years, I have been working on my own startup with my team. It's been an amazing ride, we went to China for a few months to participate in an accelerator program, build an actual product and sold it to a few hundred people. So far so good...

What we failed at, is the product. We haven't tested our product enough, hence finding out a lot of mistakes when we actually started to sell it to people. Lessons learned ๐Ÿ™

As sad as it is, it also opened doors to new opportunities like Freelancing... ๐Ÿง‘โ€๐Ÿ’ป I did freelancing a couple of years ago, but the experience wasn't the greatest as I was working hard and earning low (as expected when starting out). Since then, I wasn't really excited about going back to freelancing anymore...

Now, I am thinking that actually, I could sell myself much more expensive as I gained a lot of knowledge during the last 3-4 years while working as a React Native Developer. But in order for me to showcase my skills, I figured out that I need to fix my Linkedin profile, create a good resume, start budgeting my business expenses, improve my proposals and build my portfolio so I can showcase it to my clients. That's quite some work to do, ha? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

In later blogs, I will dive into details about each aspect I had to improve, like, budgeting, resume, Linkedin, etc. so maybe you can also benefit from it. ๐Ÿคฒ

At the moment I am working on my portfolio which I designed in Figma and built-in Next.js. Here is a little demo of the website ๐Ÿ˜Š

Although it looks pretty good on the desktop, it's not yet responsive for mobile. ๐Ÿ˜ž To be honest, It's been a while since I have done HTML and CSS, so I might have to relearn some stuff...

Next week I am gonna go more deeply into how I actually built my portfolio and the things I learned on the way. Stay tuned for awesome insights! ๐ŸŽ‰


p.s ๐Ÿคซ I recently started a podcast called The Anxious Developer where I share my knowledge on how to reduce your stress, become more present and productive as a Developer. I would love to hear your thoughts on it! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Remember, you are worthy, you are loved and you matter! Have a great day! โค๏ธ

ย